On October 8, 2015, a Memorandum of Understanding for academic exchange between JSRT and TMPS was signed at the 43rd Autumn Scientific Congress in Kanazawa, Japan, to promote friendship and scientific exchange between the societies. Dr. Anchali Krisanachinda, the President of TMPS, and Dr. Akio Ogura, the Representative Director of JSRT, signed the memorandum and confirmed agreements for future academic exchange.

TMPS was established on June 12, 2001, and currently includes about 170 members (30 diagnostic radiology medical physicists; 100 radiation oncology medical physicists; and 40 nuclear medicine medical physicists). The society hosted the 2016 International Conference of Medical Physics (ICMP) in Bangkok, Thailand.

Under this agreement, both societies will endeavor to exchange members attending the other society’s congresses, as well as research materials and publications. The host society will accept and waive the congress registration fee for two committee members endorsed by the guest society. The congress registration fee will also be waived for up to five presenters, either students or young scientific investigators, endorsed by the guest society.